Christmas New Year

Hi folks!! Hope you all had a nice Christmas.

If you have come to my site after receiving a gift of a Print or a glass hanger or even just have a card I hope you like it.

I’ll be cheeky at cut n paste this from last years December blog post cause I cant really put it better. It still stands as pretty much what i want to say! ……

I’ve been doing these fairs intensely over the last few years.  Over this time I’ve been personally really pleased with the progress and directions my work has taken.  Especially this year.

Over the years I have ploughed any money I did make back into the glass & art relentlessly.

So if you have bought a hanger thank you very much as this year it really means a lot to me and if your reading this blog after meeting me do come to the next show and invest!

I made my first hangers in 2003 i think and since then I estimate there to be well over 1000 out in the world hanging in people’s windows from Dingwall to New york.  There is even one in an Antarctic Research station!  Apart from ones sold through galleries which would be no more than 100 all the rest have all been sold by myself.

The secret thinking was always, be it in my lifetime or not, if you make enough of something inevitably its going to get noticed so since I sold my first hanger I’ve been on a quest to get these out into the world.  All individual, keep changing and progressing and make better and better work.

And as the over ruling idea of these items is to make people feel happy if I can get enough out there then all across the globe these little beacons of light are sending out ripples of good energy into the world!!

So this is what your purchase is about, you are not only buying a piece of original art but you’re helping me to continue, investing in me as an artist and allowing my art to grow & progress.

This year I would like to travel & hopefully this will inspire the next phase of my artistic direction.  So if you would like to be a part of helping me then you know where i’ll be :)

____________________________________________________

Well that was last year and I didn’t make enough to travel, but the money I did have I used to get the studio in Glasgow so I think 2013 will be more in the direction of web sales and stocking galleries. I’m undecided about doing Craft shows next year because although its the nicest way to meet folk & show them my work its just not financially worth it sadly.

So this year if you are one the folk who have received a piece of my work hope you love it and come see me if your ever in Glasgow, check the web page www.gilliesart.com and feel free to give me a shout out on FB or whatever social media your into to help spread the word about my work.  All help greatly appreciated 🙂

Have a nice break people see you in 2013

Leave a Reply

