4 Days, one empty table, one mission.

4 Days, one empty table, one mission.

what happened this week……

  • Monday afternoon got back to Edinburgh.  Slept the rest of the day, completely broken from Strathpeffer.
  • Tuesday workshop, 3 items made.
  • Wednesday workshop, 2 items made. 😦 really unmotivated.
  • Thursday… being that I have a fair on Saturday I really need to make something!
  • Workshop motivational day!
  1. 12pm Bought a new sheet of white creamy glass to paint on & a moss-green & a streaky brown to border.
  2. Worked till 6pm painting when the Kiln was full and ready to go.  Put the kiln on & went home for food.
  3. 10pm returned to studio and did second round of painting.  Things looking great, best painting yet!
  4. 1am ready to do second fire, got half way to temperature and ran out of gas.
  5. AGHHHHH
  6. Abandoned studio at 2am.
  • Friday 7am studio.  No gas available till monday.  Crisis because I only have 14 items in my stock box.
  1. 9am moment of clarity, using the small gas bottle from the soldering iron on the old small kiln to do my final fire. Yes, plan!
  2. Assembly day.
  3. 10pm Home and asleep.
  • Saturday
  1. 3am.  Studio, made 4 items. Box total 20 items, im happy with that & what I made. Some wicked painting happened on Thursday night.
  2. 5am Box pack and load up the trolley.
  3. 6.30am train leaves to Dunkeld.
  4. 8.30 arrived in Dunkeld, fair finished at 5pm.
  5. Got fortunate lift home to Edinburgh, home for 7pm.
  6. 8.45pm writing this, so tired!

All again tomorrow……  maybe not a 3am start, I think it’s a 9ish train so semi lie-in.

Photies from the mission.  Mostly out of the train window.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  • Sunday….
  1. 9.30 Train to Dunkeld, nothing to carry bar laptop so it’s a pleasant journey. Slept well last night.
  2. 11.20 Arrived at the show.
  3. Finished at 5pm, someones taking my light box back up north for me & the remainder glass stock so I’ve got a light trolley back to Edinburgh.
  4. 6.20pm Train …… 1 change in Sterling to a fortunately delayed train that I could catch….
  5. 9.30 Arrived in the flat, that journey was hellish.  3 hours!!!!
  6. 9.32 Opened a bottle of Bons Ventos red wine, reward! Put the fire on.  Put feet up.

A woman on the train asked me across a very busy carriage what it was i had (in reference to the trolley). I thought she just meant the trolley itself, no “whats attached onto the trolley”?…..

Ahhh “its my table I say, we go on adventures”.  This statement may appear slightly crazy to the other passengers. Some guy in a 70’s Tweed number takes a Bamboo table around on trains going on what he calls adventures…….

4 thoughts on “4 Days, one empty table, one mission.

  1. Lovely shots!! I especially appreciated the b&w angles of the train station – and one of the sunrise photos was particularly brilliant. Hope the upcoming week goes well for you! 🙂

    1. cheers angela, ive been really enjoying taking shots out the train window. It sure passes the miles and maybe I focus more on the scenery. it becomes more of a game / challenge. Ive been finding myslef alone in the stations a lot, being on the first train out in the morning, its a great time to muck about taking photos, I saw a really drunk guy I wanted to get a shot of sleeping but i couldnt be sure he was sleeping so thought better of it. Its gotta be B&W all the way, everything looks cool that way.

    1. Thanks Bh, a lady on the train today asked we what was on the trolley (it was my bamboo folding table) and i told her what it was and that I took it on adventures. That may of sounded a little crazy to the other passengers. !! Ha inspire the madness. I think i should write an ode to my trolley……

Leave a Reply

